| Skip to main content | Skip to navigation |

Register Now!

Developers Track

The developers' track in 2006 is an expanded version of the "Developers' Day" of previous conferences. The aim is to support the needs of developers better, by recognising that they are an integral part of the conference.

The development community includes all those who write the code that makes the Web work. WWW developers work at startups, IT departments, software vendors and government, but also include researchers who have a committment to developing usable tools and products.

The developers' track includes themed sessions involving presentations, demos and lightening talks. Some of the sessions are themed on vertical areas, such as media or e-government; some on horizontal technologies, such as Semantic Web or microformats. The developers' track also overlaps with the tutorials track and the panels track. It includes tutorials for developers: both content developers and software developers.


A list of activities on the developers' track is given below, these events are being allocated to slots in the schedule. If there is something listed that is of particular interest to you, please e-mail the developers' track chairs (below) to express your enthusiasm.

Content Developer Tutorials

David Leip
David Shrimpton

All day tutorial; separate registration required.

David Leip is the Corporate Webmaster for IBM. In that role, he manages a worldwide team of very talented technical folks around the world. He has direct responsibility for the IBM corporate portal, which supports 83 countries in 31 languages, on both the wired and wireless web. In addition, he has an arms length responsibility for the structural integrity of IBM's overall web presence. He also has responsibility for many IBM web standards, which speak to exactly how the IBM sites are implemented to comply with P3P, ICRA PICS, XHTML, etc.

David Shrimpton is Director of Learning and Teaching for the Computing Laboratory at the University of Kent. He has recently led the development of a new degree course in Web Computing at Kent, as well as designing and running a range of Web based courses. He was principal investigator for a research project on the convergence of interactive TV and the Web and has contributed to standards bodies including both the ISO and W3C. David gained his PhD in 1992 in networking and since has been an enthusiastic educator within both academia and industry. He is a member of the W3C advisory committee.

Molly E Holzschlag

Molly E. Holzschlag is a well-known Web standards advocate, instructor, and author. She is Group Lead for the Web Standards Project (WaSP) and an invited expert to the HTML and GEO working groups at the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). Via each of these roles, Molly works to educate designers and developers on using Web technologies in practical ways to create highly sustainable, maintainable, accessible, interactive and beautiful Web sites for the global community. Among her thirty-plus books is the The Zen of CSS Design, co-authored with Dave Shea. The book artfully showcases the most progressive csszengarden.com designs. A popular and colorful individual, Molly has a particular passion for people, blogs, and the use of technology for social progress.

Steve Pemberton

At the end of the 80's, Steve Pemberton with a group of colleagues built a browser with extensible markup, a DOM, stylesheets, client-side scripting, etc. Following from this work, he organised two workshops at the first WWW conference in 1994 on client-side computation and electronic publishing. He chaired the first-ever W3C event, the workshop on style sheets, the first W3C internationalisation workshop, and was a long-time member of the CSS and HTML working groups. He now chairs the HTML and Forms working groups. He is editor-in-chief of ACM/interactions. He is based at the CWI, Amsterdam. For more information: www.cwi.nl/~steven.

Developers Presentations

Mobile Session

Chair: James Pearce, Argogroup, UK

Anupriya Ankolekar
Philipp Cimiano
P. Hitzler
M. Kiesel
M. Krötzsch
G. Ladwig
H. Lewen
D. Oberler
H. Schnurr
M. Sintek
Rudi Studer
Micah Dubinko
Maurizio Brioschi
Cinzia Cappiello
Massimo Legnani
Andrea Maurino
Enrico Mussi
Barbara Pernici
Nicola Simeoni
VVS Naresh
Prasad Pingali
Vasudeva Varma
Murali Krishna Punaganti Venkata

Next Wave Sessions

Chair: Danny Ayers, Independent Developer, Italy

Becky Gibson
Ronan Oger
Gloria Lau
Brian Suda
Douglas Crockford
Ben Adida
Mark Birkbeck
Markus Krötzsch
Max Völkel
Denny Vrandecic
Heiko Haller
Rudi Studer
Stephan Fowler

Next Wave - Business Session

Chair: Rohit Khare, CommerceNet, USA

Jeff Barr
Kevin Lawver
Shawn Carnell
Dan Theurer

Ontologies and the Semantic Web Session

Chair: Jim Hendler, MINDSWAP, USA

Atanas Kiryakov
Omar Alonso
Ora Lassila
Deepali Khushraj
Andy Seaborne
Giovanni Tummarello
Adam Souzis
Christian Halaschek-Wiener
Vladimir Kolovski
Chris Bizer
Richard Cyganiak


Chair: Phillip Hallam-Baker, Verisign, USA

Phillip Hallam-Baker
Jim Melnick
Kim Cameron
Stephen Fowler

Other Sessions

Daniel Harris
Inigo Surguy
Niki Dinsey
Mark Seaborne
Kevin Kelly
Julien Anguenot
Thomas Warne
Phillip J. Windley


  • Jeremy Carroll, (HP Labs, Europe)
  • Mark Baker, (Coactus)
  • Stuart Williams, (HP Labs, Europe)

Programme Committee

  • Danny Ayers, independent
  • Matthew Dovey, University of Oxford
  • Phillip Hallam-Baker, Verisign
  • Jim Hendler, University of Maryland
  • Rohit Khare, CommerceNet
  • Ben Metcalfe, BBC
  • James Pearce, Argogroup
  • Liam Quin, W3C

Email: www2006-developers@www2006.org

Organised by

ECS Logo

in association with

BCS Logo ACM Logo

Platinum Sponsors

Sponsor of The CIO Dinner

Become a sponsor or exhibitor
Valid XHTML 1.0! IFIP logo WWW Conference Committee logo Web Consortium logo Valid CSS!